TIFF winners include La La Land, Free Fire and I Am Not Your Negro

La La Land TIFF
La La Land won the People’s Choice Award at TIFF 2016

The Toronto International Film Festival wound up this weekend and today the winners were announced.

Ten days of screenings, special public events, master classes, question and answer sessions, red carpets, parties,junkets and people watching have come to a close.

TIFF’s Piers Handling and Cameron Bailey announced the best of the best today at TIFF Bell Lightbox, Toronto.

Winner of the prestigious People’s Choice Award was Damien Chazelle’s La La Land, which stars Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone.

Free Fire won a People's Choice Award at TIFF
Free Fire won a People’s Choice Award at TIFF

Ultra-violent Free Fire from director Ben Wheatley and starring Sharlto Copley, Brie Larson, Cillian Murphy and Armie Hammer won People’s Choice Midnight Madness.

The People’s Choice Documentary was won by I Am Not Your Negro, which is based on James Baldwin’s unfinished final novel and examines what it is like to be black in America.

Check out the full list of winner, together with trailers, below.

TIFF 2016 Winners

Dropbox Discovery Programme Filmmakers Award – Jeffrey – Claudia Sainte-Luce

Short Cuts Award – Best Canadian Short Film – Mutants – Alexandre Dostie

Short Cuts Best Film – Imago – Raymund Ribay Gutierrez

Toronto Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film – Old Stone – Johnny Ma

Canada Goose Award for Best Canadian Feature Film – 30k Those Who Make Revolution Only Halfway Dig Their Own Graves – Mathieu Denis and Simon Lavoie

FIPRESCI Award –Discovery Programme – Kati Kati – Mbithi Masya

FIPRESCI Special Presentations Programme – I’m Not Madame Bovary

Netpac Asian Pacific World or International Asian Pacific Film Première – In Between Mayaloun Hamoud

Toronto Platform Prize – Jackie – Pablo Larrain

The Grolsch People’s Choice Awards as selected by audiences:

People’s Choice Midnight Madness Runners-up – Raw, The Autopsy of Jane Doe

Winner Midnight Madness –Free Fire – Ben Wheatley

People’s Choice Documentary – 2nd Before the Flood, 1st Abacus
Winner – I Am Not Your Negro – Raoul Peck

People’s Choice – Mira Nair’s Queen of Katwe, 1st Lion Garth Davis
Winner – La La Land – Damien Chazelle

Do you you agree with the choice of winners?

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments