TV5MONDE USA August Schedule Includes Henri, Les Amis Grises, More

monde

TV5MONDE USA August Schedule Includes Henri, Les Amis Grises, More

TV Picks: Watch the rest of August with TV5MONDE USA

Août means August in French and the heat is still on with these thought provoking and crime laced films from TV5MONDE USA.

Viewing is available in all major markets via DISH, Time Warner, Verizon FiOS, AT&T U-verse and other local cable providers. A link to the full guide of August programming can be found here or by visiting the TV5MONDE website.

QUELQUES HEURES DE PRINTEMPS (A FEW HOUR OF SPRING)

Wednesday, August 20 • 11:00pm ET/8:00pm PT

In this César nominated film directed by César award-winning director Stéphane Brizé, Alain Evrard (played by Vincent Lindon who’s known for Welcome and Dragon Hunters), a trucker who has just finished serving a prison sentence, is forced to temporarily move back to his mother’s house. This forced co-habitation causes all the violence of their past relationship to re-emerge. One day, Alain accidentally discovers Yvette, his mother (played by César award-winning actress Hélène Vincent), by a brain tumor and that she has decided to shorten her suffering by resorting to assisted suicide in Switzerland…

DEVANT L’OBJECTIF, TONY FRANK

Friday, August 22 • 3:45pm ET/12:45pm PT

This documentary explores the biggest singing and film stars who posed and passed in front of Tony Frank’s lens between 1960 and 1980.

LA JEUNE FILLE ET LES LOUPS

Sunday, August 24 • 8:35pm ET/5:35pm PT

At the end of World War I, 20-year old Angèle (played by Laetitia Casta who’s known for Arbitrage and Gainsbourg: A Heroic Life) is determined become the first female veterinarian. She is torn between two men – Émile (played by Jean-Paul Rouve who’s known for La Vie en Rose and A Very Long Engagement), her fiancée, an unscrupulous industrial visionary, and Giuseppe (played by two-time Golden Globe winner Stefano Accorsi), a solitary mountain man.

MORTEL ÉTÉ

Tuesday, August 26 • 11:00pm ET/8:00pm PT

This star-studded TV film follows Julie (played by Aïssa Maïga who’s known for Caché and Don’t Worry I’m Fine) who wants to leave her husband to follow her lover to Chile. But right before the moment of departure, her lover is murdered.

LES AMES GRISES (GREY SOULS)

Thursday, August 28 • 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT

In this three-time César award nominated film (based on the novel of the same name), Yves Angelou, César award-winning director, chronicles the somber events of a village east of France in December of 1917. Situated close to the front but protected from it by a hillside, the body of Belle de Jour, a little girl, is found by the canal. Judge Mierck (played by two-time César award winner Jacques Villeret), assisted by Colonel Matzev, investigates the case noting that the young victim’s corpse lies a few yards from the manor of Destinat (played by Jean-Pierre Marielle who’s known for The Da Vinci Code and Tous les matins du monde), the district attorney who has always despised and humiliated him resides. To make matters worse, a witness saw the magistrate not only talking with Belle but patting her cheek as well minutes before the little girl was strangled. But vengeance is one thing and class privilege another…

HENRI

Sunday, August 31 • 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT

Directed by Belgian actress Yolande Moreau (Seraphine, Louise Michel) Henri and Rita run a small restaurant near Charleroi, Belgium. When Rita dies suddenly, Henry finds himself alone and distraught befriending a mentally impaired work assistant.