Soundtracks Reviews

Soundtrack Review: 'The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2'

By Sue Klasky Aug 14, 2008, 17:30 GMT

Soundtrack Review: 'The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2'

Soundtrack album of the movie Sisterhood of the Travel Pants 2 based on a best-selling series of young adult novels, four young women continue their journey toward adulthood that began with the first film in 2005. With an emphasis on young singer-songrwiters the soundtrack album to "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2" is as bright and fresh as a summer movie. ...more

"The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2", a sequel to "The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants" stars the same cast of America Ferrera ("Ugly Betty"), Amber Tamblyn ("Joan of Arcadia"), Blake Lively ("Gossip Girl") and Alexis Bledel ("Gilmore Girls").

The movie, based on the books by Ann Brashares, is directed by Sanaa Hamri. The plot continues three years later with the friends in college and seeming to go off in their separate ways, yet they finds ways to stay in touch.

The CD starts off with the rockin' "Rock & Roll" by up and coming singer-songwriter Eric Hutchinson. The second track is a previously unreleased tune, “Together" written and sung by Warner Brothers' artist Michelle Branch.

Other Warner Brother singers are Mute Math ("You Are Mine") and my favorite, James Otto, who performs "Sunset Man." This tune has a country feel with a steel guitar and Otto's warm, expressive vocals.

I didn't know many of the artists on this CD such as Eric Hutchinson, Otto, Jack Savoretti, Missy Higgins, Craig David, Noisettes, Hot Hot Heat, Mute Math and Aqualung.

I only knew Cyndi Lauper and I love her "Girls Just Want to Have Fun." Savoretti's "No One's Aware" is a slow, waltzing tune; Higgins' "Warm Whispers" reminds me of Norah Jones.

The British R&B star Craig David gets funky with "Friday Night" as does the trio the Noisettes with the loud, raucous and punky "Sister Rosetta (Capture the Spirit)". The Canadian band Hot Hot Heat's cool, funky track is "5 Times Out Of 100."

The soulful "You Are Mine" is by the New Orleans band Mute Math. The alternative rock band Aqualung's quiet tune is "Strange & Beautiful (I'll Put A Spell on You)" ends the CD. 

I like this soundtrack. It's fun and bouncy and makes you want to dance. It was fun listening to it in the car, but remember, pay attention to the road!

Like this article? Please share on Facebook and give Monsters & Critics a "Like" too!
Viral on the Web

Further Reading on M&C

Amber Tamblyn Biography - - Amber Tamblyn Movies -


comments powered by Disqus

Follow Monsters and Critics


Custom Search

Latest on M&C