32nd College Television Awards feature Mary Lynn Rajskub as host, details

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation revealed that actress Mary Lynn Rajskub will host the upcoming 32nd College Television Awards. Rajskub will be joined by a star-studded slate of presenters from television’s hottest shows.

The College Television Awards recognizes excellence in undergraduate and graduate student work in the areas of video, digital production and film production by students around the country. 


Over 500 students from 154 schools across the nation entered the competition.  Out of these submissions, 24 projects across 11 categories will be honored at the gala ceremony on April 9 at the Renaissance Hotel in Hollywood.

Presenters at the gala include a host of television stars, such as Darren Criss (“Glee”), Valerie Cruz (“Off the Map,” “True Blood”), Michael Cudlitz (“Southland”), Trevor Donovan (“90210”), Jason Gann (“Wilfred”), Shenae Grimes (“90210”), Shanola Hampton (“Shameless”), Simon Helberg (“The Big Bang Theory”), David Henrie (“Wizards of Waverly Place”), Aldis Hodge (“Leverage”), Matt Lauria (“Friday Night Lights” “The Chicago Code”), David Ono (“KABC TV”), Jason Ritter (“The Event,” “Parenthood”), Drew Roy (“Hannah Montana”), Sarah Shahi (“Fairly Legal,” “Life”), KaDee Strickland (“Private Practice”), Amber Tamblyn (“House”), Aimee Teegarden (“Friday Night Lights”), Elijah Wood (“Wilfred,” “Lord of the Rings Trilogy”) and Greg Yaitanes (“House”), among others.

Primetime Emmy Award-winner Jane Lynch will be presenting the Visionary Award to the creators of the hit Fox series, “Glee.” This award honors industry leaders who successfully use the medium of television to effect social change. Acclaimed television and film actor and three time Golden Globe® nominee Bill Paxton will also present the Visionary Award to the Entertainment Industry Foundation, represented by President and CEO Lisa Paulsen.

Actress Geena Davis is partnering with the Foundation to present the competition’s first-ever Focus on Diversity and Gender Equality in Children’s Media Award—a $5,000 prize for the student producer who best showcases diversity and gender equality in their work.  Eligible entries portrayed a balance between male and female roles, demonstrated diversity, dispelled stereotypes about male and female characters and targeted children ages 2-11.

This is also the second year the College Television Awards will include a presentation of the $10,000 Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship, made possible by the Loreen Arbus Foundation. The scholarship recognizes student filmmakers who shed light on people with disabilities, help emerging artists gain recognition and increase visibility for artists with disabilities.

“The College Television Awards have become the premier launching pad for Hollywood’s budding industry leaders,” said Television Academy Foundation Executive Director, Norma Provencio Pichardo.  “We’re excited to work with such a talented list of presenters, and honor the work of those who will shape the future of television. 

The event provides student winners with industry networking opportunities through a special panel of executive producers, showrunners, agents, development executives and managers to offer students advice as they prepare to pursue their career opportunities. Past winners have gone on to lead successful industry careers, and have even become Primetime Emmy Award-winners.

Further Reading on M&C

Mary Lynn Rajskub Biography - - Mary Lynn Rajskub Movies -