2009 TV Land Awards gives Icon award to 'ER'

"ER" will be honored by TV Land's 2009 TV Land Awards" on April 26.

Cast members Alex Kingston, Anthony Edwards, Linda Cardellini, Ellen Crawford, Laura Innes, Kellie Martin, Mekhi Phifer, Parminder Nagra, Shane West and Yvette Freeman are among the "ER" stars who will accept the award.

Medical drama “ER” has been added as an honoree at the "2009 TV Land Awards," it was announced today.  

The two-hour show, hosted by Neil Patrick Harris will tape on Sunday, April 19th at the Gibson Amphitheatre in Universal City and will air on TV Land during a special presentation of TV Land PRIME on Sunday, April 26th at 8PM ET/PT.

“ER,” one of television’s longest running dramas, will be presented with the Icon Award for the way that it changed television with its fast-paced steadi-cam shots as well as for its amazing and gritty storylines. 

The Icon Award is presented to a television program with immeasurable fame and longevity. 

"ER" had its finale on April 2, pulling in a record number 16 million viewers.

The Emmy-winning “ER” in its 15-year prime-time television run,  won 122 Emmy awards, making it the most-lauded drama in television history.

Based on the best-selling novel by the late Michael Crichton, executive produced by John Wells and produced by Steven Spielberg’s Amblin Entertainment, “ER” launched the careers of its original cast members including George Clooney, Noah Wyle and Julianna Margulies.

Further Reading on M&C

George Clooney Biography - - George Clooney Movies -