Smallscreen - The Amazing Race

Click to view larger image

The series has aired in the United States since 2001 - taking seven Primetime Emmy Awards, including all six "Outstanding Reality-Competition Program" awards that have been given.

Emmy-award-winning New Zealand television personality Phil Keoghan has been the host of the show since its inception, and producer Jerry Bruckheimer has srved as main producer. The show has branched out to include a number of international versions following a similar format.

The Amazing Race - cycle 14 lasted for 22 days and covered over 40,000 miles. The teams raced in nine countries, including Romania, Switzerland, Germany, Austria, India, People's Republic of China, Thailand and Russia (Krasnoyarsk and Novosibirsk), with the finish line in Maui, Hawaii.

Executive producer Bertram van Munster revealed the teams took a 13-hour train ride on the Trans-Siberian Railway, and got into a Siberian snowstorm with below-zero temperatures.

CBS revealed the Race included the world's second tallest bungee jump, suffocating heat in India, and an Olympic-themed challenge.

This season also changed its main team names and route info font from Microgramma to Bank Gothic, as well as new icons for the route markers (although old ones were used in the Race itself).

CBS shared that Season 14 introduced a new twist to the U-Turn: the U-Turn in Leg 4 was a "Blind U-Turn," in which the team electing to use it did so anonymously; previous U-Turns (and the Yields they replaced) required teams utilizing them to acknowledge their use to subsequent teams.

TV information

Showing: 2001-
Channel/Network: CBS


Phil Keoghan



Related Articles

CBS' Amazing Race's breakout star won't fold 'em: Maria Ho
CBS Twitters Amazing Race renewal for 15th cycle


Custom Search