Roots have another hit with ‘How I Got Over’

Roots have another hit with their new studio album ‘How I Got Over’ which arrived on store shelves at a No. 6 on soundscan chart.  The album also benefited by Friday night boost after the Roots performed its first single “Dear God 2.0” on NBC’s Late Night with Jimmy Fallon.
“Dear God 2.0” reworks Monsters Of Folk’s “Dear God (Sincerely M.O.F.)” and the Roots’ recording features MOF members Yim Yames (My Morning Jacket), Conor Oberst and Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes), and M. Ward.  For the Late Night performance, the Roots were joined by Yim Yames and a 12-piece string section. 
The new studio album got its name from “How I Got Over,” the Clara Ward gospel classic (popularized by Mahalia Jackson) – which the Roots have also performed on Late Night. It includes two appearances from Grammy-winning soul man John Legend: “Doin’ It Again” a re-working of his track “Again,” and “The Fire,” an original song written for the Roots’ 2010 Olympic concert performance. 

The band describes the album’s songs as “depicting the everyman’s search for hope in this dispiriting post-hope zeitgeist”.  Other guests on the album include Joanna Newsom on “Right On” (which re-works her 2004 “The Book Of Right On”), Phonte Coleman (Little Brother, the Foreign Exchange), Blu (Blu & Exile), Peedi Peedi , Mercedes Martinez (Jazzyfatnastees), Icelandic alt-pop singer Patty Crash, newcomer Sugar Tongue Slim, as well as long time Roots’ Crew members Dice Raw, Truck North and P.O.R.N.

‘How I Got Over’ is the band’s ninth studio album (and third for Def Jam Recordings), and is the follow-up to ‘Rising Down’ (April 2008). Today’s Roots are vocalist ‘Black Thought’ and drummer ‘?uestlove,’ long-time keyboardist Kamal Gray (a member since 1996’s ‘Illadelph Halflife’), Brooklyn-based guitarist Kirk ‘Captain Kirk’ Douglas and percussionist Frank Knuckles (both members since 2003-2004’s ‘The Tipping Point’ sessions), Damon ‘Tuba Gooding Jr.’ Bryson (who joined the lineup after touring with the band in 2007), and newest member Owen Biddle on bass (a producer on the 2006 ‘Game Theory sessions’).

Note the date on this article may be incorrect due to importing it from our old system.

Elsewhere on the Web