Music News

Neil Young & Crazy Horse ride again with ‘Americana’

By Patrick Luce Mar 21, 2012, 19:56 GMT

Neil Young & Crazy Horse ride again with ‘Americana’

Neil Young & Crazy Horse will release ‘Americana,’ the first album from the group in close to nine years, on June 5th.

Crazy Horse is features Billy Talbot, Ralph Molina, Poncho Sampedro, and Neil Young. The new album is a collection of classic, American folk songs. The album was produced by Neil and John Hanlon along with Mark Humphreys, and engineered by John Hanlon with John Hausmann and Jeff Pinn. It was recorded at Audio Casa Blanca by John Hanlon.

A press release for the album describes the songs as part of the fabric of our American heritage; the roots of what we think of as "Americana" in cultural terms, using songs as a way of passing along information and documenting our past.
The lyrics reflect the same concerns and are still remarkably meaningful to a society going through economic and cultural upheaval, especially during an election year. They are just as poignant and powerful today as the day they were written.

The track-listing is as follows:

Oh Susannah
Tom Dooley
Gallows Pole
Get A Job
Travel On
High Flyin' Bird
She'll Be Comin 'Round The Mountain
This Land Is Your Land
Wayfarin' Stranger
God Save The Queen

Like this article? Please share on Facebook and give Monsters & Critics a "Like" too!

Further Reading on M&C

Neil Young Biography - - Neil Young Movies -


comments powered by Disqus