Metallica returns with ‘Beyond Magnetic’ EP

Metal icons Metallica are set to release the ‘Beyond Magnetic’ EP on CD worldwide at retail on January 30th and on January 31st in North America. The EP was released to digital retailers on December 13th and features four new tracks recorded during the sessions for 2008's ‘Death Magnetic’ - the band's fifth consecutive No. 1 album.

Metallica celebrated its 30th anniversary as a band last month, and performed four shows at the Fillmore Theatre in San Francisco, CA, exclusively for members of their fan club, the Metallica Club.

In a press release, Metallica members stated: "During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you've all come to know over the last three years. Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on 'Mission Metallica' (remember 'Mission Metallica'?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, 'What ever happened to those other four songs???.'  We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them for our 30th anniversary celebration last month, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March '08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they're being made available to you."

The ‘Beyond Magnetic’ tracklisting includes:

1. Hate Train
2. Just A Bullet Away
3. Hell And Back
4. Rebel Of Babylon

Further Reading on M&C

Metallica Biography - - Metallica Movies -