Rockers Poison celebrate 20th anniversary with expanded releases of albums

As Poison hits the road for more than 50 concert venues across the U.S. this summer on the band’s VH1 Classic and Live Nation-presented “20 Years Of Rock Tour,” Capitol/EMI Music Catalog Marketing is preparing for the August 1st reissue of Poison’s first three multi-Platinum albums in expanded 20th Anniversary Edition CD packages.

Digitally remastered with rare and previously unreleased bonus tracks, Poison’s triple-Platinum 1986 album debut, ‘Look What The Cat Dragged In,’  the multi-Platinum ‘Open Up And Say…Ahh!’ and the Platinum ‘Flesh & Blood’ will be released in commemorative 20th anniversary CD packages honoring the band’s exciting and enduring career, and their ever-growing tally of more than 25 million albums and DVDs sold around the world.
Poison's Bret Michaels (lead vocals, guitar), C.C. Deville (lead guitar, vocals), Bobby Dall (bass) and Rikki Rockett (drums), crashed hard onto the 1980s LA music scene.  Voted Most Popular Band two years in a row by Music Connection magazine, Poison's unheard of mix of rock, Americana, pop and punk musical styles, their over-the-top stage show and blue-collar, hard-working mentality shot the band into Billboard’s Top 5 with the 1986 independent release of Look What the Cat Dragged In.  The album’s singles, “Talk Dirty To Me,” “I Want Action,” and “I Won’t Forget You,” all launched into the Top 40. After years of hard work, touring and controversy, radio and MTV finally took notice of the band and their music, propelling Poison into superstardom. Look What the Cat Dragged In peaked at #3 on the Billboard album charts, charted three singles and sold more than four million copies.

The band’s 1988 follow-up, Open Up and Say…Ahh! went Platinum two weeks after its release. The single “Every Rose Has Its Thorn” hit #1 on Billboard’s Singles chart and the album sold more than seven million units. 1990’s Flesh & Blood featured a second Gold single, “Unskinny Bop,” and the album went multi-Platinum.

In 1991, amidst inner fighting, alcohol, drug abuse and road stories that would make a porn star blush, guitarist C.C. Deville and singer Bret Michaels collided in an all out fist-fight seconds after leaving the stage of the MTV Music Video Awards (right between Cindy Crawford’s high heels and Eddie Van Halen’s sneakers). C.C. Deville left the band.

Poison continued to tour arenas and amphitheatres and recorded the Platinum Native Tongue and Crack A Smile. After five years of not speaking, Michaels and Deville met up in 1999 and, with their chemistry and friendship quickly rekindled, the band went into the studio to record Power To The People. One of the most successful reunion tours of all time followed the album’s release.

Look What The Cat Dragged In: 20th Anniversary Edition

1) Cry Tough    
2) I Want Action    
3) I Won't Forget You   
4) Play Dirty    
5) Look What The Cat Dragged In 
6) Talk Dirty To Me  
7) Want Some, Need Some  
8) Blame It On You   
9) #1 Bad Boy   
10) Let Me Go To The Show  
11) I Want Action  [7" single remix] *
12) I Won't Forget You  [7" single remix] * 
13) Don't Mess Around With Jim *  

Open Up And Say…Ahh!: 20th Anniversary Edition
1) Love On The Rocks   
2) Nothin' But A Good Time  
3) Back To The Rocking Horse  
4) Good Love    
5) Tearing Down The Walls  
6) Look But You Can't Touch  
7) Fallen Angel    
8) Every Rose Has Its Thorn  
9) Your Mama Don't Dance  
10) Bad To Be Good   
11) Living For The Minute * 
12) Band Interview *

Flesh & Blood: 20th Anniversary Edition
1) Strange Days Of Uncle Jack  
2) Valley Of Lost Souls   
3) (Flesh & Blood) Sacrifice  
4) Swampjuice (Soul-O)   
5) Unskinny Bop   
6) Let It Play    
7) Life Goes On    
8) Come Hell Or High Water  
9) Ride The Wind   
10) Don't Give Up An Inch  
11) Something To Believe In 
12) Ball And Chain   
13) Life Loves A Tragedy  
14) Poor Boy Blues   
15) Something To Believe In [acoustic version] *
16) God Save The Queen [instrumental demo] *  previously unreleased

20 YEARS OF ROCK TOUR (remaining U.S. tour dates)
Presented by VH1 Classic and Live Nation
Jul 25   Scranton, PA   Toyota Pavilion
Jul 26   Washington, DC   Nissan Pavilion
Jul 28   Detroit, MI   DTE Energy Music Theatre
Jul 29  West Bend, WI  Washington County Fair Park*
Jul 30   Columbus, OH   Germain Amphitheater
Aug 01  Toronto   Molson Amphitheatre*
Aug 02   Buffalo, NY  Darien Lake Performing Arts Center
Aug 04  Clearfield, PA  Clearfield County Fair*
Aug 05   Boston, MA   Tweeter Center
Aug 06   Holmdel, NJ   PNC Bank Arts Center
Aug 08   Wantagh, NY   Jones Beach Theater
Aug 09   Hartford, CT  Dodge Music Center
Aug 11   Hershey, PA  Hershey Park Star Pavilion
Aug 12   Virginia Beach, VA  Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
Aug 13  Wildwood, NJ  Wildwood Convention Center
Aug 15   Raleigh, NC  Alltel Pavilion at Walnut Creek
Aug 16   Charlotte, NC   Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre
Aug 18  Birmingham, AL  Verizon Wireless Music Center
Aug 19  St. Petersburg, FL  Times Forum*
Aug 20   West Palm Beach, FL Sound Advice Ampitheatre
Aug 22   Orlando, FL    Hard Rock Live
Aug 23  Myrtle Beach, SC  House of Blues*
Aug 25  Atlanta, GA  HiFi Buys Amphitheatre
Aug 26      Memphis, TN            Mud Island*


Further Reading on M&C

Poison Biography - - Poison Movies -