Modestep Announce “London Road” along with Releasing New Single “Machines”


I love almost all iterations of electronic music and almost all iterations of rock music, when they come together, it is sonic bliss. At Coachella 2013, Dog Blood (Skrillex and Boy Noize’s duo) tore the roof down with a thunderous DJ set rife with bangers and wobbles, subsequently British quartet Modestep came on, armed with synths, drums and guitars, and completely blew me away.

You can be immediately besotted with their fusion take on bass music and enticing live electronic music performing. Their catalog of tracks, including their much lauded 2013 debut album “Evolution Theory” is brilliantly versatile and captures Dubstep for all of the bass heavy best qualities.

To my excitement, the boys of Modestep have announced the May 25 release of their highly anticipated second album “LONDON ROAD” (Max Records/INgrooves), along with premiering the lead single “Machines” on Modestep Radio (U.K.) and (U.S.).

Listen to “Machines” here:

This song is an amalgam of a House banger and a riff heavy rock tune, with vocalist Josh Friend’s melt-your-heart croon and guitars piercing through synthetic noise like a rock ‘n’ roll dagger. All of this is zeroth to a earth shattering drop that could make you either pogo or headbang, take a pick. The synth and unexpected syncopations come through like a fusillade of audible anarchy, it turns your head into a mosh pit in the best way possible.

If this song is a hint to the sound of their sophomore album, I cannot wait to dive into it, until then I’m going to dance like a moron to one of the most enticing thrash-out tunes of the year. Also make sure to check out the drum and bass smasher “Snake” , available now as a free download here , also to be released on “LONDON ROAD”

Below you can find the tracklist for the album, make sure to pre-order it on iTunes!

Tracklisting for LONDON ROAD:

1. Damien (Modestep & Funtcase)
2. Make You Mine (Modestep & Teddy Killerz)
3. Machines
4. On Our Own (Modestep & Culprate)
5. Feel Alive
6. Rainbow (Modestep & The Partysquad)
7. Snake
8. Nightbus Home
9. Seams
10. Sing (Modestep & Trolley Snatcha)
11. Circles (Modestep & Skindred)
12. Game Over (Modestep & Rude Kid ft. Big Narstie, Dialect, Discarda, Flowdan, Frisco & LayZ)
*Bonus Tracks:
1. Countdown (Modestep & Genetix)
2. Mianite (Modestep ft Tom Syndicate)
*Bonus tracks only available on the iTunes album edition J. MacIntyre is a voracious music nerd of all genres, bass player and managing editor of M&C Music. You can find him on Twitter


Elsewhere on the Web