Inaugural Alternative Press Music Awards to Air Live on AXS TV

TV Picks: Inaugural Alternative Press Music Awards to Air Live on AXS TV

AXS TV will be broadcasting the inaugural Alternative Press Music Awards live on July 21 from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum.



The AP Music Awards will be held at the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame And Museum located on
the shore of Lake Erie in Cleveland on July 21.  Fifteen awards in total will be handed out, including Album Of The Year presented by Journeys, Artist Of The Year presented by Monster Energy Drink and Most Dedicated Fans presented by Fearless Records along with a special Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Victory Records.

Fans can cast their votes in 12 different categories at Voting ends July 15.

What to expect:

LIVE performances from Fall Out Boy, Joan Jett & The Blackhearts, legendary horror-punk mavericks the Misfits, A Day To Remember, All Time Low, Brendon Urie of Panic! At The Disco, Asking Alexandria, twenty one pilots and many more to be announced, including a few surprise guests.

Alternative Press publisher Mike Shea comments on the launch of this year’s award show:

“For nearly 30 years, Alternative Press has been the leading voice in cutting-edge music and lifestyle. Now we can finally have a night of our own. I look forward to celebrating several generations’ worth of artists from the ever-growing AP community, from Joan Jett & The Blackhearts to Fall Out Boy to the current Warped Tour headliners. This is not only going to be an amazing night for Alternative Press, but for the true fans, the musicians, the labels and the industry at large. Be prepared for many surprise, once-in-a-lifetime moments sure to be trending worldwide!”

Six-time AP cover star Mark Hoppus of Blink-182 will serve as host for the AP Music Awards.

“I’m very pleased with AP’s poor decision to choose me as host of the 2014 AP Awards,” Hoppus remarks. “I will do my best to make them regret their selection.”

Other confirmed artists to appear:

Billy Corgan (Smashing Pumpkins),Korn, Andy Biersack (Black Veil Brides), Machine Gun Kelly and Frankie Palmeri (Emmure), with more to be announced.  Billy Corgan will receive the inaugural Vanguard Award.

“I’m honored and thrilled to be AP’s first Vanguard Award recipient, as the magazine continues to be a standard bearer for all independent music artists,” the Smashing Pumpkins frontman says.

The AP is honoring Joan Jett and her band the Blackhearts with the AP Icon Award. In her many roles ranging from her stint in the all-female proto-punk band the Runaways, scene statesman (she produced (GI), the debut from notorious L.A. punks the Germs), successful recording artist and feminist icon, Jett helped build the groundwork for America’s punk-rock scene with her hard-charging guitar prowess, attitudinal vocals and a string of anthems so positively vibrant, they could’ve been recorded yesterday.

AXS TV founder Mark Cuban says,

“Alternative Press is one of the most important and influential publications in the music industry…Their unique and uncompromising vision is a perfect fit with the brand of programming AXS TV is known for, and this is reflected in the all-star lineup that will be performing in the show. This is truly an historic event, and we’re proud to be the official broadcaster of this innovative awards show.”

A limited amount of discounted early bird general admission tickets as well as VIP and Monster ticket packages will go on sale Friday, April 25 at 10:00 am EDT.

Both VIP and Monster packages will include a ticket to the pre-show boat party on the Goodtimes II, located right behind the Rock Hall, sets sail at 1:30 p.m. and will include performances by Issues, Ghost Town and Marmozets, three bands recently featured in AP’s 100 Bands You Need To Know In 2014 special.


Artist Of The Year Presented by Monster Energy Drink

  • A Day To Remember
  • Avenged Sevenfold
  • Black Veil Brides
  • Bring Me The Horizon
  • Fall Out Boy
  • Of Mice & Men
  • Panic! At The Disco
  • Paramore
  • Pierce The Veil
  • Sleeping With Sirens

Album Of The Year presented by Journeys

  • A Day To Remember • Common Courtesy
  • Avenged Sevenfold • Hail To The King
  • Black Veil Brides • Wretched And Divine: The Story Of The Wild Ones
  • Bring Me The Horizon • Sempiternal
  • Fall Out Boy • Save Rock And Roll
  • Paramore • Paramore
  • Sleeping With Sirens • Feel
  • Touché Amoré • Is Survived By
  • twenty one pilots • Vessel
  • The Wonder Years • The Greatest Generation

Artist Philanthropic Award Presented by Sub City / Take Action

  • All Time Low — Skate4Cancer
  • Memphis May Fire— peta2
  • Modern Baseball — 1BlueString
  • Pierce The Veil — The Keep A Breast foundation
  • Rise Against — Shirts For A Cure
  • The Used — Living The Dream Foundation

Best Live Band


twenty one pilots

  • A Day To Remember
  • All Time Low
  • Asking Alexandria
  • Fall Out Boy
  • Pierce The Veil
  • twenty one pilots
  • Breakthrough Band
  • The Color Morale
  • Crown The Empire
  • Issues
  • letlive.
  • The Story So Far
  • twenty one pilots

Song of the Year

  • All Time Low feat. Vic Fuentes • “A Love Like War”
  • Bring Me The Horizon • “Shadow Moses”
  • Fall Out Boy • “My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up)”
  • Falling In Reverse • “Alone”
  • Paramore • “Still Into You”
  • Sleeping With Sirens feat. Machine Gun Kelly • “Alone”

Best International Band

  • Asking Alexandria (U.K.)
  • Bring Me The Horizon (U.K.)
  • Crossfaith (Japan)
  • Parkway Drive (Australia)
  • Silverstein (Canada)
  • Frank Turner (U.K.)

Most Dedicated Fans Presented by Fearless Records

  • All Time Low
  • Avenged Sevenfold
  • Black Veil Brides
  • Mayday Parade
  • My Chemical Romance
  • Pierce The Veil

Best Vocalist

  • Andy Biersack (Black Veil Brides)
  • Vic Fuentes (Pierce The Veil)
  • Kellin Quinn (Sleeping With Sirens)
  • Oli Sykes (Bring Me The Horizon)
  • Brendon Urie (Panic! At The Disco)
  • Hayley Williams (Paramore)

Best Guitarist

  • JB Brubaker (August Burns Red)
  • Synyster Gates (Avenged Sevenfold)
  • Phil Manansala (Of Mice & Men)
  • Jack O’Shea (Bayside)
  • Chris Rubey (The Devil Wears Prada)
  • Jacky Vincent (Falling In Reverse)

Best Bassist

  • Jeremy Davis (Paramore)
  • Zack Merrick (All Time Low)
  • Ryan Neff (Miss May I)
  • Jaime Preciado (Pierce The Veil)
  • Devin “Ghost” Sola (Motionless In White)
  • Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy)

Best Drummer

  • Jess Bowen (The Summer Set)
  • Josh Dun (Twenty One Pilots)
  • Mike Fuentes (Pierce The Veil)
  • Matt Greiner (August Burns Red)
  • Luke Holland (The Word Alive)
  • Ryan Seaman (Falling In Reverse)