Hero Director Zhang Receives Art Directors Guild Award

Chinese filmmaker  Zhang Yimou , director of this year’s highly acclaimed “House of Flying Daggers” who has had three previous films nominated for Best Foreign Language Film by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, has been selected to receive the Art Directors Guild’s (ADG’s) coveted honorary Outstanding Contributions to Cinematic Imagery Award.

This is the first time ADG will present this award to a filmmaker of foreign language films.

The Cinematic Imagery Award is voted from time to time to an individual whose body of work in the film business has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the movie-going experience.

Past recipients of this honor are Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards, Robert S. Wise, Frank Oz, Norman Jewison and John Lasseter. The award will be presented to Yimou as one of the highlights of the Ninth Annual Art Directors Guild Awards on Saturday, February 12, 2005, during black-tie ceremonies from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Seven ADG awards in production design categories for television, theatrical motion pictures and a new award for Best Commercial will also be presented the same night (nominations will be announced on January 13). In addition, and as previously noted, the ADG will present a second honorary award on Feb. 12 for Lifetime Achievement to Production Designer William Creber.

The director on the set of House of Flying Daggers

Yimou’s three previous Academy Award nominated Best Foreign Language Films were “Ju Dou” (1990), “Raise the Red Lantern” (1991) and “HERO” (2003).

His directorial debut was in 1987 with “Red Sorghum.” His honors as a director include the Silver Lion at the 44th Venice International Film Festival for “Raise the Red Lantern” (1991), the Golden Lion Award at the 45th Venice International Film Festival for “The Story of Qiu Ju” (1992), the Grand Jury Prize at the 47th Cannes International Film Festival for “To Live” (1994), the Golden Lion Award at the 52nd Venice International Film Festival for “Not One Less” (1999), the Silver Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival for “The Road Home” (1999) and the Alfred Bauer Award for “HERO” (2003).

Note the date on this article may be incorrect due to importing it from our old system.