CNN’s “Cold War: The Complete Series” DVD box set comes May 8

Warner Home Video’s “Cold War: The Complete Series” is coming to DVD. This powerful, Peabody Award-winning (Outstanding Achievement in Broadcasting, 1998) CNN documentary will be released on DVD for the first time May 8, 2012, in time to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Cuban Missile Crisis.

The events that shaped the course of the Cold War and the United States’ relationship with the Soviet Union are chronicled in Warner Home Video’s Cold War: The Complete Series.

From the release:

The 18-hour landmark series will be available in its entirety and includes the Academy Award®-nominated (Best Documentary, Features, 1953) propaganda film The Hoaxters plus an extended interview with Cuban leader Fidel Castro as bonus content.  Cold War: The Complete Series is comprised of 24 episodes on a six-disc set. The set will retail for $68.92 SRP.

CNN’s Cold War is a sweeping look at nearly five decades of global history. The seminal, acclaimed series is the culmination of a massive, three-year-long effort helmed by award-winning documentarian Jeremy Isaacs (The World at War), whose team shot more than 1,000 hours of original footage and gathered archival footage from all over the world to include historically important and often emotionally stunning images, many never before seen by an international audience. Honored with the prestigious 1998 George Foster Peabody Award, CNN’s landmark Cold War series is the only major documentary on the subject.

Narrated by renowned film and television actor Kenneth Branagh (Hamlet, HBO’s Warm Springs), each episode of Cold War delivers an impactful account of the events that fueled the rivalry between world superpowers, the United States and the Soviet Union. The story of the Cold War is boldly depicted through the use of striking, historical newsreel footage and captivating interviews from key leaders and political figures such as Mikhail Gorbachev, Fidel Castro, Jimmy Carter, George H.W. Bush, Lech Walesa and others. The series’ 24 episodes take viewers through major historical events that impacted the world and shaped the Cold War, including the Russian Revolution in 1917, World War II, the Cuban Missile Crisis, the fall of the Berlin Wall and subsequent collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991 and much more.

Cold War was executive produced by Isaacs and CNN’s Pat Mitchell (Until the Violence Stops). The series was produced by Turner Broadcasting System and was first broadcast on CNN in 1998.

This release will include an UltraViolet™ Digital Copy which allows consumers to download and stream the series via Wi-Fi to computers and compatible iOS and Android devices.*

*Limited Time Offer.  Restrictions and Limitations apply.  Does not include iTunes Digital Copy file.  Go to for details.

DVD Bonus Material:

    The Hoaxters – The Academy Award®-nominated (Best Documentary, Features, 1953) propaganda film which offers a short history of Russian communism and warns against its dangers to the American way of life.
    Castro in His Own Words – Pat Mitchell’s extensive interview with Cuban leader Fidel Castro in its entirety.

“Cold War offers viewers an outstanding account of one of the most important historical events of the 20th century – documentary filmmaking at its finest,” said Rosemary Markson, WHV Senior Vice President, TV and Special Interest Marketing. She added, “This definitive series is enlightening, entertaining and thought provoking. As the 50th anniversary of the Cuban Missile Crisis approaches, this is a must-own DVD for anyone who appreciates and wants to learn more about the history and politics of this fascinating era. We are proud to offer this remarkable documentary series to consumers for the first time on DVD.”

24 One-Hour Episodes:

Comrades, 1917-1945

Make Love, Not War, The Sixties

Iron Curtain, 1945-1947

Red Spring, The Sixties

Marshall Plan, 1947-1952

China, 1949-1972

Berlin, 1948-1949

Détente, 1969-1975

Korea, 1949-1953

Good Guys, Bad Guys, 1967-1978

Reds, 1947-1953

Backyard, 1954-1990

After Stalin, 1953-1956

Freeze, 1977-1981

Sputnik, 1949-1961

Soldiers of God, 1975-1988

The Wall, 1958-1963

Spies, 1944-1994

Cuba, 1959-1962

Star Wars, 1980-1988

Vietnam, 1954-1968

The Wall Comes Down, 1989

Mad, 1960-1972

Conclusion, 1989-1991


Note the date on this article may be incorrect due to importing it from our old system.