Arts News

Royal Society of Marine Artists annual exhibition

By M&C Oct 2, 2008, 11:07 GMT

Royal Society of Marine Artists annual exhibition

Marine art fans may already be familiar with another painting Bradford Service to the Indian Chief, which appeared on the RNLI Christmas cards last December and depicts one of the most celebrated lifeboat rescues.

This year’s show includes Mark Myers’ painting The Mystery bound for Melbourne, depicting the 37 ft Cornish lugger, which was sailed from Cornwall to Australia in 1854-55.

The heroic journey is in the news at the moment as Pete Goss, who received a Legion d'Honneur for saving the life of a fellow sailor in the 1996 Vendée Globe solo world yacht race, is about to embark on a recreation of it sailing a replica, the Spirit of Mystery.

Marine art fans may already be familiar with another painting Bradford Service to the Indian Chief, which appeared on the RNLI Christmas cards last December and depicts one of the most celebrated lifeboat rescues. Ramsgate Coxswain Charles Fish was awarded a gold medal for this arduous 26-hour service on 5–6 January 1881 when he and his crew rescued 11 people from the stricken Indian Chief. It has been described as one of the finest services in the RNLI’s history.

Fans of Patrick O’Brian and Master and Commander will be glad to see Flying Kites, a painting of HMS Surprise by Geoff Hunt, specially created for the definitive book about this famous ship to be published in November.

Flying Kites, a painting of HMS Surprise by Geoff Hunt.

Flying Kites, a painting of HMS Surprise by Geoff Hunt.

The Mystery bound for Melbourne and Bradford Service to the Indian Chief by Mark Myers RSMA and Flying Kites (HMS Surprise under royals and stunsails) by Geoff Hunt RSMA, will be on display at the Royal Society of Marine Artists annual exhibition at the Mall Galleries from 15 October to 26 October 2008

Listings Information
Royal Society of Marine Artists annual exhibition
15 October to 26 October 2008, 10am-5pm daily, closes 3pm on final day

Mall Galleries,
The Mall  (Near Trafalgar Square),
London SW1
Tel: 020 7930 6844,
www.mallgalleries.org.uk,

Entry £2.50, concessions £1.50, (free to FBA Friends, Art Fund Members, Westminster Res-card holders and Under 16s)

President’s Tour
Tuesday 14 October, 11am
Guided tour of the exhibition given by Geoff Hunt, President RSMA. Entry is included in the exhibition admission charge.

Demonstrations
A programme of talks and demonstrations by members of the RSMA is open to all visitors. Participation is included in the exhibition admission charge (£2.50, concessions £1.50).



Viral on the Web

Further Reading on M&C

COMMENT

comments powered by Disqus

Follow Monsters and Critics

Search

Custom Search

Latest on M&C