Arts News

U.K tour of Equus opens today

By Amy Somensky Jan 31, 2008, 6:08 GMT

U.K tour of Equus opens today

Alan Strang seems a normal, obedient 17-year old with a passion for horses. Then one night he blinds six horses with a hoof pick. What drove him to it? His life seems routine, his family loving, his pursuits harmless and yet he has been placed under psychiatric surveillance - an unresponsive patient who is woken each night by terrible nightmares. Only psychiatrist Martin Dysart seems able to grasp the answer ...more

Chichester: The national U.K tour of the hit West End production of Equus kicks off today at the Chichester Festival. Headlining the play is Alfie Allen as Alan Strang and Simon Callow as Martin Dysart. The rest of the cast includes Laura O'Toole, Linda Thorson, Colin Hurley, Helen Anderson, Andrew McDonald, Fiz Marcus, Michael Taibi, Alex Cowie, Julius Agustin Ebreo, Robert Eugene, John Trindle, and Nouska Hanly.

The complete tour schedule is as follows:

Thursday 31 January - Saturday 9 February
Chichester Festival Theatre, Chichester

Tuesday 12 - Saturday 16 February
Theatre Royal, Glascow

Monday 18 - Saturday 23 February
King’s Theatre, Edinburgh

Monday 25 February - Saturday 1 March
Devonshire Park Theatre, Eastbourne

Monday 3 - Saturday 8 March
Grand Opera House, Belfast

Monday 10 - Saturday 15 March
Cambridge Arts Theatre, Cambridge

Monday 17 - Saturday 22 March
Milton Keynes Theatre, Milton Keynes

Monday 24 - Saturday 29 March
Theatre Royal, Newcastle

Monday 31 March - Saturday 5 April
His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen

Monday 7 - Saturday 12 April
New Theatre, Cardiff

Monday 14 - Saturday 19 April
Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield

Monday 21 - Saturday 26 April
Theatre Royal, Brighton

Monday 28 April - Saturday 3 May
Alhambra Theatre, Bradford

Monday 5 - Saturday 10 May
Theatre Royal, Bath

Monday 12 - Saturday 17 May
Festival Theatre, Malvern

Monday 19 - Saturday 24 May
Richmond Theatre, Richmond

The creative team for Peter Schaffer's play includes direction by Thea Sharrock, design by John Napier, lighting design by David Hersey, and sound design by Gregory Clarke.

In the drama, Alan Strang seems a normal, obedient 17-year old with a passion for horses. Then one night he blinds six horses with a hoof pick. What drove him to it? His life seems routine, his family loving, his pursuits harmless and yet he has been placed under psychiatric surveillance - an unresponsive patient who is woken each night by terrible nightmares. Only psychiatrist Martin Dysart seems able to grasp the answer to this psychological puzzle.

For Equus tickets visit www.equustheplay.com.



Further Reading on M&C

COMMENT

comments powered by Disqus

Latest Headlines on M&C

Follow Us

Follow M&C on Pinterest

Search

Custom Search

Latest on M&C

.